Skip to main content
where academic investigation +
christian faith +
service to others unite

The Board of Trustees is responsible for

  • Appointing the president and evaluating his/her performance with reference to the policies and priorities set by the trustees.
  • Adopting policies and priorities for the advancement of the university.
  • Providing the financial and other resources necessary to achieve trustee policies, including participation in fundraising.
  • Defending the university from influences which interfere with the achievement of its mission.
  • Safeguarding the principles of moral and academic freedom for the community of scholars.
  • Establishing sound financial policies, which includes preservation of capital assets as well as stewardship of current funds.
  • Serving as advocates for the entire university without losing sight of special school-based opportunities.
  • Exercising final authority in a manner to ensure the future of the university.

Meeting Schedule For the 2015-2016 Academic Year


Wednesday, February 10, 2016Board Committees6:00 p.m.Various
Thursday, February 11, 2016Board Committees9:00La Sierra University (AD 223)


Wednesday, May 18, 2016Board Committees1:00 p.m.Troesh Conference Center
Wednesday, May 18, 2016Constituency Meeting6:00 p.m.Various
Thursday, May 19, 2016Board Meeting9:00 a.m.La Sierra University (AD 223)


Wednesday, November 16, 2016Board CommitteesTBAVarious
Thursday, November 17, 2016Board Meeting9:00 A.M.La Sierra University (AD 223)

Board Listing


  • RICARDO GRAHAM, Chair (President, Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • JUDY ST. JOHN, Vice Chair (Certified Public Accountant)
  • RANDAL R. WISBEY, Secretary (President, La Sierra University)

Members At Large

  • MARLA OSBORNE-ANDERSON (Superior Court Judge)
  • TONY ANOBILE (President of the Arizona Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • THEODORE BENSON (Treasurer, Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • ED BOYATT (Educational Consultant)
  • ERNIE HWANG (Bank President)
  • MEREDITH JOBE (Attorney)
  • ALVIN KWIRAM (Academic Administrator)
  • GEORGE MELARA (Principal, Architecture Firm)
  • BRAD NEWTON (Secretary, Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • CHRIS OBERG (Senior Pastor)
  • SANDY ROBERTS (President of the Southeastern California Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • VELINO SALAZAR (President, Southern California Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • ALINA SANCHEZ (Businesswoman)
  • JUSTIN SANDEFUR (Research Fellow)
  • ZAREH SARRAFIAN (CEO, Medical Center)
  • ALINA TOLAN (Clinical Pharmacist)
  • ARNOLD TRUJILLO (Vice President, Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • BERIT VON POHLE (Director of Education, Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists)
  • LISA WALCKER (Assistant Regional Manager, Youth & Family Services Organization)
  • MARILENE WANG (Physician)

Committees of the Board

Academic Programs and Personnel Committee

Advancement and Marketing Committee


Finance, Budget, and Audit Committee

Student Life Committee

Trusteeship Committee
JUDY ST. JOHN, chair