• Print


Meet the Associate Provost, Barbara Favorito

Barbara Favorito became Associate Provost of La Sierra University in January 2005.

Prior to becoming Associate Provost, Dr. Favorito had established a broad base of administrative experience at La Sierra University. She served as Chair of the Music Department from 1998 to 2002, Director of Wind and Percussion Studies from 1990-2005, Chair of the College of Arts and Sciences Rank and Tenure Committee 1994-2004, and Director of University Studies since 2004. She also served on the Faculty Senate for 10 years, including Faculty Senate chair, 1997-1998.

A conductor by training, Dr. Favorito’s conducting career embraces both the educational and professional worlds.  She was the founding conductor of the La Sierra University Wind Ensemble and conducted the La Sierra University Wind Ensemble from 1990 to 2005 while serving as Director of Wind and Percussion Studies.  She was the Artistic Director and Conductor of the Riverside Master Chorale (1991-2001), Artistic Director and founding conductor of the Southern California Young Artists Symphony (1992 to 1997), founding conductor of the Colorado Concert Chorale (Denver, CO) and founding conductor of the Andrews University Wind Ensemble.  

Dr. Favorito has conducted wind ensembles, bands, orchestras and choirs in thirty-five states, Canada, Mexico, and Europe.  Her performing ensembles consistently earned national and international reputations for excellence. Her style and technique as a conductor and music educator have merited invitations as a guest conductor in music festivals, clinics, and conducting symposiums across the United States.  She remains active as a guest conductor and clinician. 

Dr. Favorito earned a Doctor of Musical Arts Degree in Instrumental Conducting from the University of Miami, a Master of Music in Conducting from Indiana University and a Bachelor of Music Education from Union College, Lincoln, Nebraska.  She has studied and worked with some of music’s most distinguished conductors, including Robert Shaw, Sir David Willcocks, Hilmuth Rilling, Erich Leinsdorf, and Jon Robertson. 

She is also the recipient of numerous academic and professional awards, including the Educational Press Association of America’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Excellence in Educational Journalism and YWCA’s Women of Achievement.  She is a member of Phi Kappa Lambda and Phi Kappa Phi and has been recognized in Who’s Who in Young Women of America, Who’s Who in Women in Music, and Who’s Who in America.

Please Wait...